New Business

Business By JosCakes Updated 20 Oct 2010 , 7:49pm by leily

JosCakes Posted 19 Oct 2010 , 12:38pm
post #1 of 9

Hey everyone, just signed up to this forum and it looks fab so far.

I've just started my own business too in cake decorating. I;ve been decorating and baking cakes for friends and family for about 8 years now and finally got up the courage to go it on my own and start it as a business. As I'm very very new to this whole thing, has anyone got any ideas, hints or tips to help me along.

My daughter has created me a wonderful website www.joscakedesigns.com if anyone has a mo to look on it and tell me what you think that would be great as I'm not very techy so anything fancy looks brilliant to me icon_smile.gif

Thanks, look forward to getting some great tips

Jo x

8 replies
leily Posted 19 Oct 2010 , 1:00pm
post #2 of 9

welcome to cake central. There is awealth of information here, expecially in the business forum.

I took a look at your cakes and the first thing i saw was that you have some licensed character cakes (pooh, eeyore, little mermaid) I would suggest removing those as they are copyrighted characters and it is illegal to reproduce them in the form that you have. If you would like to do characters like that you can either purchase toys to put on the cake or order the cake kits which are approved for cake use (they can be ordered from decopac or bakery crafts)

Also, on your pricing page i don't actually see prices listed, i just see numbers for the servings for each size of cake.

daltonam Posted 19 Oct 2010 , 1:13pm
post #3 of 9

Welcome to CC!!

indydebi Posted 19 Oct 2010 , 2:31pm
post #4 of 9

she did a great job on your website! It's very colorful without being too busy.

I would add some info about your location on your "contact us" page. While the info is on your FAQ page, most people look for a location on the 'contact us' page.

And yeah, your pricing page doesn't have any pricing.

scp1127 Posted 20 Oct 2010 , 9:52am