Animal Prints On Fondant

Decorating By kisamarie Updated 18 Oct 2010 , 4:53pm by kisamarie

kisamarie Posted 16 Oct 2010 , 8:24pm
post #1 of 8

I'm not loving the way my stuck on fondant animal print looks on my cakes, its not clean looking. Does anyone have any suggestions for rolling the print into the fondant?

7 replies
AnitaK Posted 16 Oct 2010 , 8:26pm
post #2 of 8

What kind of animal print are you doing?

kisamarie Posted 16 Oct 2010 , 8:27pm
post #3 of 8

Giraffe, Zebra, and leopard

Kellbella Posted 16 Oct 2010 , 8:29pm
post #4 of 8

You can paint them on if you like. What don't you like about them?

kisamarie Posted 16 Oct 2010 , 8:34pm
post #5 of 8

I guess I dont like the way it looks because its raised and looks weird to me, maybe its just me. If I was to paint it on what would I use... Sorry Im new to this cake art stuff and I probably sound silly, if you look at my pictures you can see the giraffe cake I just finished and theres something about the pattern that looks bad, I mean other than the dry edges on the fondant, first try at Chocolate MMFicon_wink.gif

Kellbella Posted 17 Oct 2010 , 12:21pm
post #6 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by kisamarie

I guess I dont like the way it looks because its raised and looks weird to me, maybe its just me. If I was to paint it on what would I use... Sorry Im new to this cake art stuff and I probably sound silly, if you look at my pictures you can see the giraffe cake I just finished and theres something about the pattern that looks bad, I mean other than the dry edges on the fondant, first try at Chocolate MMFicon_wink.gif

You can mix your colors with a little vodka or lemon extract to thin it out. That's what I did when I painted a leopard print on my jungle cake. Maybe try rolling it out a little thinner next time...that might help thumbs_up.gif

bakencake Posted 17 Oct 2010 , 1:13pm
post #7 of 8