Royal Icing Or Rolled Butter Cream...questions From A Newbie

Baking By gen2026 Updated 16 Nov 2010 , 2:43pm by nanahaley

gen2026 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gen2026 Posted 15 Oct 2010 , 1:47pm
post #1 of 7

I am about to take on my first ever batch of decorated cookies. I bake a lot, but I am new to decorating - both cakes and cookies, but I am wanting to do some cookies for my son's football team. This is his senior year and we (my daughter and I)are trying to make it special.

My biggest issue is that I want the cookies to taste great - not just look pretty....because these boys love to eat and they are used to me bringing homebaked goodies to them. So should I used Rolled Buttercream or Royal icing to get the best flavor? Is the NFSC a good one for a beginner to use and does it have a good flavor? our school colors are black and gold and since I have already read about the black staining their lips and mouth, I know to try to limit the amount of black used and try to focus more on gold. I can use some white accents because that is actually one of the school colors as well....black, gold and white, but how do I have white royal icing? just not add coloring............

and for a newbie, would you recommend buying the royal icing (i think this is possible) or making it?

Thanks for any advice you can give!
Gen

6 replies
ellentwn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ellentwn Posted 15 Oct 2010 , 2:28pm
post #2 of 7

I recently tried cookies a couple of months ago. I've never tried rolled buttercream. I used Khalstead's NFSC, Toba Garrett's Glace (doesn't dry rock hard like royal icing, but hard enough to stack) and also used Antonia74's royal icing. All from this site. I liked the glace for taste and glossy appearance. the cookie recipe is very tasty. Good luck!

Newatdecorating Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Newatdecorating Posted 17 Oct 2010 , 12:12am
post #3 of 7