Is Tylose Powder Gluten Free?

Decorating By Cocobongo Updated 10 Mar 2012 , 10:45pm by ligea

Cocobongo Posted 14 Oct 2010 , 10:45am
post #1 of 8

I just wanted to check on this. Also flower paster/modelling paste?

I do worry about doing a gluten free cake and am in the middle of one now and suddenly had a panic!

Many thanks icon_smile.gif

7 replies
sugarandstuff Posted 14 Oct 2010 , 12:01pm
post #2 of 8

I would say probably no to both -can you post the ingredients?

sugarandstuff Posted 14 Oct 2010 , 12:10pm
post #3 of 8

It looks like tylose is actually just a chemical - so maybe that one is, but you should call the company And if you made the modeling paste ffrom chocolate and corn syrup, then you should be fine with that one.

Cocobongo Posted 14 Oct 2010 , 12:31pm
post #4 of 8

Thanks for your reply. My CMC jas doesn't actually liost ingredients, so I googled it and this is what came up:

sodium carboxymethyl cellulose E466 (CMC)

For the modelling paste, the ingredients are:

Sugar
Glucose
Water
Vegetable Oil
Maize Starch
Sorbitol
Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil
Mono & Diglycerides of fatty acids
Carboxy Methyl Cellulose
Polyglycerol
Esters of fatty acids
Acetic Acid
Propylene Glycol

On the modelling paste, it has an allergy adive notice and just says may contain traces of nuts.

It's a minefield with gluten. If i can't use either of these, any suggestions how I can make lettering out of fondant as they have picked a font I made on a previous cake that used tappits!

Argh.

x

Cocobongo Posted 14 Oct 2010 , 12:33pm
post #5 of 8

The tylose powder I got from by usual sugarcraft supplier. I think they get a big bag and decant it into jars, as it just has a label that says tylose powder on it with a use by date, and nothing else, so I don't know the make.

Cocobongo Posted 14 Oct 2010 , 12:48pm
post #6 of 8

Sorry one last question, are wilton food colours gluten free?

auzzi Posted 16 Oct 2010 , 8:28am
post #7 of 8

1. the modelling paste is fine

2. CMC usually is GF

3. Wilton Colours are GF

If there is any doubt, contact the manufacturer directly.

Asking on a general forum may not give accurate information as manufacturers change their ingredients without notice. One batch may be GF while the next batch may not ..

ligea Posted 10 Mar 2012 , 10:45pm
post #8 of 8

Please, when you're making cakes for people with allergies call the manufacturer to be certain that the product is not packaged on equipment that also processes wheat, rye, barley, spelt for gluten free items, dairy products for lactose and casein -allergic people, and nuts or soy for people allergic to those. Cross-contamination can and does make some people sick. CMC and Tylose are generally gluten free on their own, but I am having difficulty locating a product that will not have possibly been cross-contaminated. Manufacturers are not required to state on their labels that "this product has been manufactured on equipment that processes..." It's much better to keep your clients safe.

Quote by @%username% on %date%

%body%