Crumb Coat Question

Decorating By nniles38 Updated 13 Oct 2010 , 2:18am by nniles38

nniles38 Posted 13 Oct 2010 , 12:46am
post #1 of 6

I'm a beginner baker and I recently heard that if you put a "crumb coat" on your cake, then the buttercream won't shred the crumbs between the layers. Question is... what is a crumb coat? How is it used? I did a search and didn't find the answer. Sorry if its a dumb question.

5 replies
Karen421 Posted 13 Oct 2010 , 1:02am
post #2 of 6

No dumb questions - that is how we learn! A crumb coat or dirty ice as some call it - is just a thin coat of icing to seal all the crumbs in, before you put your final coat of icing. So you would fill your cake, then crumb coat it, chill or let it sit for a few hours to settle, then put on another coat of icing or your fondant on.

tokazodo Posted 13 Oct 2010 , 1:05am
post #3 of 6

A crumb coat is a thin layer of buttercream that has been applied to your layers. It helps to seal in the crumbs.
It can be applied to your layers and your layers can then be left to set up or crust about 10 minutes before the final coat of buttercream can be applied.
*another way to do this is to crumb coat and place layers in the freezer or fridge until the icing is set.

Crumb coating maybe used to seal in chocolate cake crumbs and keeps the chocolate cake crumbs from showing through the buttercream leaving little dark spots on an otherwise all white buttercream cake.

There is an on going argument as to whether or not to crumb coat.
I find it most useful for chocolate cakes or dark cakes like a red velvet cake.
I can almost get away with out this step when icing vanilla or white or lighter cakes.

I hope this helps!