Cake Photography

Business By jessnsam Updated 12 Oct 2010 , 9:08pm by loriemoms

jessnsam Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jessnsam Posted 12 Oct 2010 , 7:36pm
post #1 of 5

Hi, what does everyone use for the background when taking photographs of cakes?

thanks

Jess

4 replies
online_annie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
online_annie Posted 12 Oct 2010 , 7:39pm
post #2 of 5

I use various fabrics hanging behind and draped over my display tables. I feel it gives them a more polished look.

jones5cm Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jones5cm Posted 12 Oct 2010 , 8:27pm
post #3 of 5

I have found out from this website that your photograph can either make or break your cake. So I bought one of those 'tri-side' cardboard display things that are used for science projects and throw either black or white fabric over it on my kitchen island (I'm a home baker and don't have display tablesicon_smile.gif. Works just fine and I'm always on the look out for different fabrics to use as a background.

leily Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leily Posted 12 Oct 2010 , 8:47pm
post #4 of 5

I bought a white and black king size sheet that i use for most of my photos. But i also have purchased curtains and large blankets too use. I purchased all of these items on clearance so i didn't have to pay for yards of fabric, plus they are wider than your standard fabric also.

loriemoms Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
loriemoms Posted 12 Oct 2010 , 9:08pm
post #5 of 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by jones5cm

I have found out from this website that your photograph can either make or break your cake. So I bought one of those 'tri-side' cardboard display things that are used for science projects and throw either black or white fabric over it on my kitchen island (I'm a home baker and don't have display tablesicon_smile.gif. Works just fine and I'm always on the look out for different fabrics to use as a background.