Need Advise About Airbrush Colors.

Decorating By kakedreamer1212 Updated 11 Oct 2010 , 3:15am by madgeowens

kakedreamer1212 Posted 10 Oct 2010 , 6:21am
post #1 of 6

I'm pretty new to airbrushing so I would love to know why the color that goes on the cake doesn't always look like the one that is on the bottle. I was making a Nightmare before Christmas cake last night and decided to airbrush the tiers. The colors that ended up on the cake weren't exactly the colors that the bottle indicated. Do the colors go on buttercream different than fondant? Is there some kind of secret that I don't know? The photo is the first in my gallery. The middle tier was suppose to be sky blue and the other color was regal purple but when it went on, looked a lot like it was going to be kind of black, I actually added purple color mist spray on top of it to get a better purple. I could live with the purple but I didn't really like the blue. Any advise? Thank you. Oh by the way, I did put a light coat on first but it still wasn't looking right.

5 replies
madgeowens Posted 10 Oct 2010 , 6:46am
post #2 of 6

tell me about it..the red came out on my roses looked orange...so I experimented with a bit of vodka and mixed darker reds....hope it doesnt hurt my airbrush...but I cleaned it out good.....I am new with mine as well

what are you dooing about over spray and inhaling this stuff....it was all in my nose

kakedreamer1212 Posted 10 Oct 2010 , 7:32am
post #3 of 6

Are you kidding me...it's all over my kitchen, everything I touch is blue and I did wonder if I should be wearing a mask of some kind. Wonder how others handle the airbrushing thing. I'm beginning to think that maybe I should take them outside to airbrush them. What a mess!!!! Thanks for the comment on the photo. The blue was suppose to be much lighter though. I was kind of dissapointed.

Evoir Posted 10 Oct 2010 , 10:46am
post #4 of 6