Job Questions

Business By puppylove07 Updated 2 Nov 2010 , 2:07pm by -K8memphis

puppylove07 Posted 7 Oct 2010 , 4:27pm
post #1 of 9

I'm sorry if this is a topic that's been asked a million times, but I'm a newbie to this forum. Anyways, I'd love to find a job doing baking and cake decorating and I have completed the Wilton beginner course, but that's about all the experience I have. Basically I'd like some info about what to expect in the job market. I'm thinking grocery stores, Walmart, dairy queen, etc.

1. What type of experience do you need to get hired? Or is it mostly on-the-job training?
2. What type of hourly rate or salary can I expect?
3. What types of hours can I expect? I have a child in daycare M-F and my husband works weekends, so I absolutely cannot work weekends - will any retail job hire me?
4. Is this a good career choice for a working mother in terms of benefits, flexibility, etc.?

Thanks for any advice you can give me!

8 replies
puppylove07 Posted 2 Nov 2010 , 12:49pm
post #2 of 9

anyone? icon_sad.gif

peg818 Posted 2 Nov 2010 , 12:59pm
post #3 of 9

well, if you can't work weekends chances of finding a job in this type of business is very slim. Cakes are a weekend and holiday business. It just the nature of it.

As far as the wages, that depends on where you are, here the grocery stores are starting slightly above min wage. And that isn't enough to pay the baby sitter, let alone what health benefits cost.

BethLS Posted 2 Nov 2010 , 1:09pm
post #4 of 9

I hate to say it, but I agree with the other poster. If you cannot work weekends, work in this line is extremely difficult, or impossible to find.

Depending on what state to live in, you might be able to do this from home!

When I left Walmart in 2005, I think I was making close to 10$ an hour. (very rural part of Michigan)

-K8memphis Posted 2 Nov 2010 , 1:28pm
post #5 of 9