To Stack Or Not To Stack....that Is The Question!

Decorating By cakemamaP Updated 7 Oct 2010 , 3:18am by leah_s

cakemamaP Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakemamaP Posted 7 Oct 2010 , 2:10am
post #1 of 7

I'm doing a wedding cake for a friend for Friday afternoon and I'm wondering if you were doing a 12-10-8 inch square cake would you stack it all up and deliver it done or stack it up once at the venue. It's about half an hour away from where I'm at. I think it should be fine, but I'm afraid of bulging or shifting or other problems could arise that I wouldn't be aware of. It's a wedding cake after all and I want it to be perfect for my friend. Also wondering if tonight is too soon to put it all together. I've baked and made all of the icing, the cakes have sat out for at least 8 hours before I put them in the freezer so they could settle. Can I fill, frost and cover them tonight or should I wait for tomorrow. I've never done a 3 tier before and I've never done such big cakes before....8" was the biggest before this....so any tips on all of the above would be so greatly appreciated icon_biggrin.gif

6 replies
leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 7 Oct 2010 , 2:33am
post #2 of 7

Umm . . .cakes settle AFTER the filling is in. For a Sat delivery, the cake is completed Friday. I'd take the bottom two tiers assembled and put the final one on onsite. But I'd be using SPS, so I know it would travel well.

cakemamaP Posted 7 Oct 2010 , 2:43am
post #3 of 7