A Question For The Pro's

Decorating By YOUnique_Cakes Updated 6 Oct 2010 , 6:51pm by mareg

YOUnique_Cakes Posted 5 Oct 2010 , 8:04pm
post #1 of 16

I have been making cakes for about 5 months now but without a doubt this is the direction I wanna take my life and open a new business. I have looked into leasing some commercial kitchen space to start out. As this becomes a little closer to a reality I have been getting very nervous. I believe I learn very easily and until this point I have been self taught and have learned some things off the internet. But!!! With that being said I have never done a over a 3 tier cake and I have never done a carved cake and I have never delivered a big cake either. My question for the pro's is how did you all learn these things before going into business???? Was it through working for someone else or trial and error???? I very much so believe in my abilities but when your talking about someones wedding day and their cake you have to know that you know you can pull it off!! I've sent some emails out to some bakeries regarding a part time job but I am 3 to 4 hours away from all of them and would have to travel to work with them and plus I don't want someone to think I am trying to learn from them just to turn around and be competition because that is not the case. I need advice please!!!!! How did all of you get started???? Is there any books or video's you would recommend?? PLEASE HELP!!

15 replies
all4cake Posted 5 Oct 2010 , 8:36pm
post #2 of 16

There's still a multitude of things I haven't done but, given the opportunity would take them on in a heartbeat!

Trial and error...

if something comes up that I've not done before, I make extras ...cake, icing, details....for goof ups. I don't believe you have to know everything to be successful. You just have to be willing to learn constantly.

Darthburn Posted 5 Oct 2010 , 9:21pm
post #3 of 16

The first thing you have to remember is that you....