First And Don't Know How To Handle

Decorating By walterak Updated 4 Oct 2010 , 4:18am by DSmo

walterak Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
walterak Posted 4 Oct 2010 , 3:11am
post #1 of 9

I am new at all this...do it as a hobby but to also make a little extra money. I have someone wanting a wedding cake in June, she wants to order with me as I already gave her prices for what she wants. I have never taken an order this far out and don't really know how to handle it. Any advice? She wants to know when she should pay me. Do I tell her we should wait till closer to the date? Do I take some of her money now and just put it aside? I just don't know. I am a little worried about it being so far away. I mean, its over 6 months away. Its for June 18th.

8 replies
sari66 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sari66 Posted 4 Oct 2010 , 3:37am
post #2 of 9

Once you have the total price that she's going to pay have her sign your contract (a must) get a deposit ( most times this is not refundable) then she can pay on the cake till one month before the wedding.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 4 Oct 2010 , 3:39am
post #3 of 9

what part of it being "so far out" worries you? It's normal to order wedding cakes sometimes a year or more in advance. If you know what part of it bothers you, perhaps we can help address that fear with you. thumbs_up.gif

walterak Posted 4 Oct 2010 , 3:46am
post #4 of 9

Just the fact that it is so far away. I know for bakeries and pros they take orders so far out, but I am just a hobbyist. I am afraid I will not want to do this as a hobby anymore, or for some reason I will forget. The not wanting to do it is starting to not bother me as much...because even if 4 months from now, I decide to stop...I can still do 1 cake in June...