Getting The Shaft?

Decorating By jhay Updated 3 Oct 2010 , 1:13pm by Redsoxbaker

jhay Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jhay Posted 3 Oct 2010 , 4:05am
post #1 of 13

Ok... so I have a friend at work and I've been making cakes for her grandkids for the past 3 years. I always make her cakes elaborate and fun and CHEAP because I love her to death.

Well... Last week, a relative of hers contacted me to see if I'd make a cake for her daughter's birthday. I quoted her a price, (which is still way under what it should be) and she came back with the , "That's more that I wanted to spend" bit. No biggie...

The next morning, my friend come to me and says she wants to buy the cake for the little girl's birthday as her gift. I can't help but feel used. I know my friend wouldn't have offered to buy the cake if the relative hadn't complained. I feel badly for my friend, but I also have principles. I'm thinking of refusing to do it regardless...

what do you think?

12 replies
CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWR41 Posted 3 Oct 2010 , 4:14am
post #2 of 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhay

The next morning, my friend come to me and says she wants to buy the cake for the little girl's birthday as her gift.

I think it was a nice gesture for her to offer to pay for the cake.

silverc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
silverc Posted 3 Oct 2010 , 4:17am
post #3 of 13

I would tell her I will do it, but give the same price you already quoted.

playingwithsugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
playingwithsugar Posted 3 Oct 2010 , 4:18am
post #4 of 13

Same price. Nuff said.

Theresa icon_smile.gif

cakesbycathy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesbycathy Posted 3 Oct 2010 , 4:22am
post #5 of 13

I agree someone is trying to take advantage of you. Yep same price.

Montrealconfections Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Montrealconfections Posted 3 Oct 2010 , 4:22am
post #6 of 13