Kitchen Aid Question

Decorating By leannedash Updated 2 Oct 2010 , 8:40pm by tahloola

leannedash Posted 2 Oct 2010 , 1:30pm
post #1 of 6

Hello all! Im new here and have a few questions b4 I finally buy my first kitchen aid stand mixer. I am also rather new to cake baking. I make all the desserts for family functions and all the cakes for bdays...
I love to bake and bake and bake for the golidays....cookies mostly. SO, for my needs I would like to know which kitchen aid would suit my they come with most attachments that ill need...I am also going to attempt to make fondant in a couple of weeks for my daughters bday,,,gonna try is there a specific attachment that ill need just for much do they cost and best place to buy...i know, i know, lots of questions, but everyone on here is super friendly, helpful and most importantly talented!!
i was gonna try ebay, but i want to make sure i get the right one with the right accesories...
thanks to everyone...u all rock! thumbs_up.gif

5 replies
Crimsicle Posted 2 Oct 2010 , 6:41pm
post #2 of 6

I make MMF by hand, so I can't help you there. But, if I WERE going to make it in my Kitchenaid, I'd go for the biggest one I could afford! That stuff's STIFF!

As far as I know, Kitchenaids only come with paddles. You've got to buy any attachments as add-ons. Unless you run into someone who's having a special or something.

I have a 4 qt and a 6 qt. The 4 qt stays in the garage these days. I bought a small bowl as an accessory to the 6qt...and an extra big bowl as well. That's more than enough to get me through pretty much any job I get.

You have to weigh your needs against your budget. I got by for 30 years with a small one. I didn't NEED the big one. I just wanted it. icon_smile.gif If you don't make double cake recipes and huge batches of may only need the small one, too.

cakeythings1961 Posted 2 Oct 2010 , 7:02pm
post #3 of 6