Pearl Dust

Decorating By cakemad51 Updated 5 Oct 2010 , 2:56pm by Apti

cakemad51 Posted 2 Oct 2010 , 12:01pm
post #1 of 12

I am new to cake decorating, can anyone please tell me which is the most affective way to cover fondant with pearl dust?

11 replies
DeezTreatz Posted 3 Oct 2010 , 9:49pm
post #2 of 12

I use a little lemon juice and add the pear dust - mix it up and then brush it on.

A lot of other people use vodka - and say it works amazing - then brush it on - just make sure you use a decent brush (Buy it at a cake decorating store)
I used a cheap one once and all of the bristles fell off into the liquid! LOL

grandmomof1 Posted 3 Oct 2010 , 10:07pm
post #3 of 12

You can also use pearl dust dry using a very soft brush (similar to the round and fluffy cosmetic brush). Just dust it on.

AngelFood4 Posted 4 Oct 2010 , 1:19am
post #4 of 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by grandmomof1

You can also use pearl dust dry using a very soft brush (similar to the round and fluffy cosmetic brush). Just dust it on.

Ditto. You can also steam it a little to help the dust stick to the surface.

I also have brushed it on mixing the dust with almond extract. The extract dries clear and doesn't leave a sticky residue behind - don't use water.

srkmilklady Posted 5 Oct 2010 , 5:54am
post #5 of 12

I just purchased a "pump brush" and it works amazingly well! I just filled the tube with my super pearl...pump it a few times and start brushing your fondant. It gives a really nice even finish of the pearl. Very little waste with it too. If you haven't seen it before, just google "dusting powder pump brush" and it's the first thing that comes up. HTH...

Apti Posted 5 Oct 2010 , 6:57am
post #6 of 12

Although the first replies focused on "painting" with pearl dust, you will probably start out just dry dusting the pearl dust onto your fondant. Painting with a wet pearl dust is a more advanced technique.