How Many Layers Per Tier????

Decorating By joaste116 Updated 28 Sep 2010 , 12:48pm by SugarMoon

joaste116 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
joaste116 Posted 28 Sep 2010 , 11:06am
post #1 of 4

Hi, this is my first time to post on CC and not sure if this is the correct forum. I've been making cakes for my family for the last 12 months and have picked up lots of tips from this site. Im self taught and not taken any classes. My problem is I'm trying to make a two tier square cake with each tier being 5-6 inches high. Each time I bake the cakes (yellow cake) they dont cook in the middle or burn on the outside. Am I better off baking 2 or 3 thinner layers per tier??? I want to fill with BC and cover with Fondant. I hope I'm making myself clear as its really frying my brain.
Thanks in advance, Joanne x

3 replies
SugarMoon Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugarMoon Posted 28 Sep 2010 , 11:28am
post #2 of 4

Hello, you should be able to have a 6 inch tier easily with 3 standard 2 inch cakes. It might actually be taller than 6 inches because of filling and frosting. High quality cake pans and a frosting nail or heating core will help ensure even cooking of your cake. If you don't have the pans you can use baking strips, wet paper towels wrapped in aluminum foil or soaked strips of towel to wrap around your pan for even heating.

joaste116 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
joaste116 Posted 28 Sep 2010 , 11:37am
post #3 of 4

Thank you for the advice. Im gonna give the kitchen towel and foil strips a go...never heard that one. Quite excited now. Thanks again icon_biggrin.gif

SugarMoon Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugarMoon Posted 28 Sep 2010 , 12:48pm
post #4 of 4