New At Fondant!!! I Need Hot Pink Color....and Black

Decorating By tat2edprincess Updated 2 Oct 2010 , 1:28pm by Sweetwise

tat2edprincess Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tat2edprincess Posted 28 Sep 2010 , 6:50am
post #1 of 14

I am making a topsy turvey cake first time....with fondant (first time) ...

it is music inspired and I have a great plan however...I am new to fondant and I am scared of it!!!!

I want hot pink, silver and black coloring. I think i can go with a raspberry color (pink and red)...I am never good with black with buttercream icing...and for the silver i think I am just going to dust it on white...any ideas on coloring?

Since this is my first fondant experience I am opting for premade...can i use my mccormick flavors to flavor it?
I need this cake by this saturday...please help

13 replies
SugarMoon Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugarMoon Posted 28 Sep 2010 , 7:16am
post #2 of 14

Do you have a bakery supply place that you know of in your area? If not, you've got a choice of Wilton and Duff's fondant. And if you don't have a Michael's, it's pretty much Wilton. If there's a Hobby Lobby in your area Americolor has a great color called Electric Pink, but I'm not sure if they carry it. If you've never really worked with fondant, it's hit or miss to try and make your own, but I think a great hot pink could be achieved with Michele Foster's fondant adding a packet of unsweetened strawberry koolaid to the hot mixture and adding Electric Pink as needed later. Wilton's fondant tastes awful, but it's pretty sturdy stuff and easier for beginners to work with. You're better off buying black fondant, though. Hopefully there's a bakery supply. Good luck!

lizzycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lizzycakes Posted 28 Sep 2010 , 7:24am
post #3 of 14

Wilton's Pink( gel coloring) taste disgusting as well.

Kahlua Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kahlua Posted 28 Sep 2010 , 7:30am
post #4 of 14