New To Group, And A Question Regarding Molds

Decorating By diamonds-and-rust Updated 29 Sep 2010 , 6:31pm by diamonds-and-rust

diamonds-and-rust Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
diamonds-and-rust Posted 28 Sep 2010 , 2:03am
post #1 of 10

Hi All!
I am a newbie to cake decorating and decided to take up this as a hobby since I lost my job. I am finding myself absolutely DEVOURING the wisdom on this site and find myself falling asleep with my laptop instead of going to bed icon_biggrin.gif

I have a question regarding molds: I have noticed that the choc candy molds are waaaayyyy cheaper than the fondant molds. I am sure there is a good reason for this but I was wondering if there is any reason that fondant should not be used in the candy molds?

Also, for anyone in the Seattle area, are there any local suppliers for the hi-ratio shortening? I love Sharon Zambito's recipe for the BC, but it is too expensive to have it shipped to me (got it from Amazon, and the bloody shipping charge was almost as much as the product) icon_cry.gif TIA!

9 replies
luv_to_decorate Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
luv_to_decorate Posted 28 Sep 2010 , 6:39pm
post #2 of 10

Hi there. Welcome to CC. I have a lot of candy molds. They are easy to use with melted candy. I am sure you can use fondant in them too. The molds that I have used with fondant have been the silicone molds. They work well for fondant/gumpaste. Why would you want to buy hi-ratio shortening if you are just doing this for fun? I use Crisco for my buttercream. I am not a professional, but I do know that a lot of them also use Crisco or some other vegetable shortening. You can find many recipes on here for buttercream. Look at some of them. Again, welcome. You will love this site.

tastyart Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tastyart Posted 28 Sep 2010 , 6:53pm
post #3 of 10