How Long Will Rice Krispies Last???

Decorating By Mikel79 Updated 29 Sep 2010 , 5:07pm by flowergirl1

Mikel79 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mikel79 Posted 27 Sep 2010 , 7:44pm
post #1 of 12

Hi Cakers!!! icon_biggrin.gif

I have never used RKT before. I plan on making something for a cake I November. I want to start the trial and error now. If I make the object with RKT and like it, how long will it last.

How should I store it?

I want to cover the RKT in fondant. What do you recommend I use to adhere the fondant??

Thank you in advance!

Michael

11 replies
Mikel79 Posted 27 Sep 2010 , 10:49pm
post #2 of 12

icon_cry.gif

AngelFood4 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AngelFood4 Posted 27 Sep 2010 , 11:58pm
post #3 of 12

I've made RKT figures a few times but covered them with modeling chocolate - Nothing needed to help it stick to the RKT.

If using fondant, you can use buttercream or a little bit of piping gel. Some people brush it with melted chocolate to help it get a smooth surface before covering it with fondant but I haven't tried this yet.

I wouldn't make them more than 4-5 days before they are eaten. It helps to make them with veg oil instead of butter (butter goes stale faster). With a 16oz bag of Marshmallows, I use about 2 Tablespoons of veg oil then add the rice crispies cereal. You can crush the rice crispy cereal to make it easier to work with and it helps with getting a smoother finish.

On my blog I have photo's of some Barney characters I made recently.

Good luck!

Mikel79 Posted 28 Sep 2010 , 12:12am
post #4 of 12

Thx for the reply!

I was planning on using the already made store RKT. Can they be uses??

AngelFood4 Posted 28 Sep 2010 , 1:58am
post #5 of 12

Yes, you could use the ready made ones...just don't make them too far in advance or else they'll be stale.

Mikel79 Posted 28 Sep 2010 , 10:44am
post #6 of 12

Thank you AngelFood!!

Michael

SugarFiend Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugarFiend Posted 28 Sep 2010 , 11:29am