Making Fall Leaves

Decorating By bluejeannes Updated 27 Sep 2010 , 2:33pm by bluejeannes

bluejeannes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bluejeannes Posted 26 Sep 2010 , 10:16pm
post #1 of 8

Im going to be making a fall cake and I have never done leaves before. Im thinking about doing them in fondant (would a mix of gumpaste and fondant be better?) I'll probably use a little petal dust on the edges too. Since I have never done this before, I was wondering if anyone has any tips or advice for me? Thanks in advance

7 replies
Occther Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Occther Posted 26 Sep 2010 , 10:30pm
post #2 of 8

When I first started doing cakes, I made some fall leaves from fondant. I wish that I had used gumpaste or a mixture and used the pasta machine to roll them out thinner.

cakebaker1957 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakebaker1957 Posted 26 Sep 2010 , 10:40pm
post #3 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluejeannes

Im going to be making a fall cake and I have never done leaves before. Im thinking about doing them in fondant (would a mix of gumpaste and fondant be better?) I'll probably use a little petal dust on the edges too. Since I have never done this before, I was wondering if anyone has any tips or advice for me? Thanks in advance

bluejeannes check out my fall cake in my pics all the way down to the bottom , they were all fondant and i marbled some of them , it was fun , i made pumpkins too!

weirkd Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
weirkd Posted 26 Sep 2010 , 11:00pm
post #4 of 8

You can use fondant and tylose and they will come out just fine. I like to use the maple leaf set from Jennifer Dontz. Then I take a sponge and I sponge on brown, orange,green, and red in different places. Then take and stick them on some krinkled tin foil to give them some movement.

Loucinda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Loucinda Posted 27 Sep 2010 , 1:09am
post #5 of 8