This Cake Will Be The Death Of Me-Need Ideas!

Decorating By lollyponpon Updated 2 Oct 2010 , 11:29am by lollyponpon

lollyponpon Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lollyponpon Posted 25 Sep 2010 , 12:18pm
post #1 of 11

Hi all CC people!
I have been requested to make a cake for a friends 21st... she has been sooo vague about what she wants-just says she appreciates anything i decide on...only direction she has offered is "round over square tiers" and "black,pinka nd white colour scheme". Now I am a noob to decorating and i normally have some wonderful images for inspiration from online, here, or am making a course cake...but this one...i have all these ideas in my head and cant seem to string them together.
i know she loves butterflies, and so i was thinking of making a black 4 tier cake, with a spiral of butterflies from the front bottom left, around the cake and with a "graduating" pink effect, darker pink at the bottom up to a light pink... anyway!! I have seen some gorgeous ideas for toppers on here, royal icing cages, feathers, monogram toppers--everything!! I thought, as it is a rare opportunity for me to get to make a cake to decorate, i would try to incorporate everything!! i asked about royal icing cages, but havent had much luck so i scratched that...
tonight, i experimented with bunching feathers--it looks terrible!! So now, all i have is a monogram... and it seems too bland after all the hype leading your eye to the top of the cake...
i dont mean to sound rude, but i was hoping something more exciting than just a few more butterflies on wires at the top...but hrmmm...i am at the bottom of my idea bucket! This is why i only do it as a hobby, i lack the creative side!!
What do you guys think??
Also, have you been able to find a spiral of butterflie cakes, i could draw on them, but when i type in "spiral" i get mountain like cakes, and butterflies bring up a lot of butterfly shape cakes--gah!!
TIA!!
Lollyponpon

10 replies