Fil Hasn't Paid For Cake! What To Do?

Decorating By beckback Updated 27 Sep 2010 , 10:45pm by kimbm04r

beckback Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
beckback Posted 23 Sep 2010 , 3:19am
post #1 of 16

First off I am an amateur and don't have an actual business. I make cakes as a hobby and friends and family have started to order cakes for me and pay me for them.
My FIL ordered a cake a week and a half ago for his 26th wedding anniversary. I made it, and told him how much it would be and he said "That's it?" so I asked him how much he wanted to pay for it (I know, I shouldn't have said that but figured since he didn't think I was charging enough then why not get more for it!) Anyway, he said he would figure it out. He came with my MIL that night to pick up the cake, no payment. I didn't really expect it then either since my MIL was with him BUT it has now been a week and I haven't heard from him at all!
Not sure how to approach him about it...suggestions?

15 replies
jules5000 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jules5000 Posted 23 Sep 2010 , 3:41am
post #2 of 16

First of all, I have no idea what the family relations are like, but I would simply suggest that you pull him aside next time you see him and tell him that you have a question and need a solution.

You tell him that When he approached you to do the cake that he seemed surprised by how little you were charging and you asked him how much he wanted to pay for it. Well, you are right you should not have asked him that, but lets go on. Anyway. you tell him that because the MIL was with him that you understood why he didn't pay for it at that time, but what exactly is holding him up from paying you now? Just ask him this as kindly as possible?

Some other things to think about and maybe include in your conversation with him: