Favorite Tool

Decorating By Winnie_in_Wi Updated 23 Sep 2010 , 9:01pm by Jeliz

Winnie_in_Wi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Winnie_in_Wi Posted 22 Sep 2010 , 11:50pm
post #1 of 16

I'm still new to all this and would like everyone's expert opinion.

What is your favorite cake tool beyond the basic stuff of tips, bags, turntable, rolling pin, stand mixer and dishwasher. So far I like the last two best.

What one tool would you say you use the most? The one you wouldn't work without? Which gadget would you say a beginner should make an investment in? If there is one thing that you use that really made a big difference in the quality of your finished cake I'd love to hear that too.

Just a newbie who sees lots of cool things she wants but has no budget!
Winnie

15 replies
FlourPots Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FlourPots Posted 23 Sep 2010 , 7:16am
post #2 of 16

This is my favorite tool: http://www.karenscookies.net/Cookie-Scraper_p_607.html

I use it on every single project for all sorts of things.

soph917 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
soph917 Posted 23 Sep 2010 , 7:47am
post #3 of 16

I love my Wilton cake leveler. It cost like $3, I've had it for years and I use it on nearly every single cake. Makes it super easy to torte. I've heard horrible things about the larger size leveler, but I love the small one.

Caths_Cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Caths_Cakes Posted 23 Sep 2010 , 8:51am
post #4 of 16

for me , it has to be my boning tool, my leaf viening tool, and my needle scriber! i use them on everything! OH, and my tweeezers!

didavista Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
didavista Posted 23 Sep 2010 , 9:42am
post #5 of 16

I have to say fondant smoother for either butter cream or fondant. And bake even strips.

susgene Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
susgene Posted 23 Sep 2010 , 9:58am
post #6 of 16

My extruder! I use it for so many, many things. Love it!

pag41989 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile