heroes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
heroes Posted 22 Sep 2010 , 9:28am
post #1 of 20

Ive been asked to do a Wedding Fayre in January alongside my friends who are a
Florist
Hairdresser
Nail Artist
Photographer

and shes asked me to be the Wedding caker, Ive only done 2 practice Wedding cakes recently, They want me to put together a portfolio of my cakes, I have no confidence in doing this but everyone else has the confidence in me, what shall I do, I feel under pressure to do this kind of stuff when Im only really just starting out. Thankyou Karen xx

19 replies
tsal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tsal Posted 22 Sep 2010 , 9:47am
post #2 of 20

The only advice I can give you is to be honest - for your own sake! Tell them that you're uncomfortable because you're not a professional and that thus is causing you stress.

I'm a hobbyist and only recently have I started to feel more confident. I did one wedding cake (for free) last year, and I spent a lot of time stressing about it and then apologizing because I felt it wasn't 'professional' looking.

If you're not going to enjoy the experience, think twice about it. If your friends love your work and feel that you can do it, then I'm sure you could totally do this, but don't drive yourself nuts over it.

cakeythings1961 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeythings1961 Posted 22 Sep 2010 , 12:17pm
post #3 of 20

I agree with Teal!