Indydebi's Buttercream, Please Help

Baking By lizzycakes Updated 24 Sep 2010 , 5:23am by lizzycakes

lizzycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lizzycakes Posted 22 Sep 2010 , 4:48am
post #1 of 7

Hello, I am excited to try to make Indydeb's buttercream for the first time, I'm new at to all of this and I have been using Wilton's recipe.

I'm abut to get started making it and would like to know if I can substitute water in place of the milk in the recipe?

If the milk is there in order to add fat because of the removal of trans-fat in crisco, can I use the store brand shortening with 2.5g instead of crisco? Or should I just leave the recipe as is!?

Haha the reason I am asking is because I am in Houston heat/humidity and I am making this cake for a 2 y/o birthday party, I'm scared about leaving milk unrefrigerated as I am making a fondant cake ( I know the sugar is supposed to preserve it, but I'm paranoid!.. I guess if none of you all have gotten sick it's ok lol)

6 replies
JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 22 Sep 2010 , 4:51am
post #2 of 7

Leave the recipe as is. icon_smile.gif

doramoreno62 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
doramoreno62 Posted 22 Sep 2010 , 6:18am
post #3 of 7

Just to test it out, I frosted a slice of carrot cake with indydebi's BC and then I let it sit in direct sunlight from 11:00am to 3:00pm. When I inspected it, it was just as I had frosted it. Did I mention it was 101 degrees that day? I meant to take a picture of it so I could post it here on CC but I, being the klutz that I am, dropped it in the floor. Oh well, take my word for it, it holds up to heat beautifully! I didn't change a thing on the recipe!

lizzycakes Posted 22 Sep 2010 , 9:26am
post #4 of 7

Lol, I know you were mad when you dropped it! I HATE scrubbing crisco out of BOWLS after I make frosting, I cant imagine scrubbing it off the floor hahaha.