Mmf Tastes Like "refrigerator" Lol..anyone??!!

Decorating By lizzycakes Updated 24 Sep 2010 , 2:09pm by luvmysmoother

lizzycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lizzycakes Posted 21 Sep 2010 , 3:59am
post #1 of 14

Ok, so I am new to this. I have made about 6 fondant cakes in the past month each time I make a new batch of fondant and always have left over fondant to use for colors on the next cake... I always coat with crisco, saran wrap, then place in a ziploc freezer bag, and store in the refrigerator.

I have only tasted 2 out of 6 of my cakes, one was delicious, the other one tasted like ....the fondant had picked up the taste of "refrigerator"! (this was with a week old batch of well-covered fondant) I can't describe the taste, because it doesn't taste like an actual food I have in my fridge! I have noticed my fondants also SMELLS like this. I guess you could compare this smell to the smell something has after sitting in the freezer??

HAS THIS HAPPENED TO ANYONE ELSE??

Do you all keep yours in a tupperware instead of a ziploc bag? Will this help control this problem or is it just the MMF itself that gets this smell?

I'm so worried now because someone is actually paying me to make them a cake, I am going to make new fondant, but I am afraid to even make it a day in advance now!

13 replies
Laurascakefactory Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Laurascakefactory Posted 21 Sep 2010 , 4:08am
post #2 of 14

I lightly coat my left over fondant with high ratio shortening then triple wrap in cling wrap then put in air tight bowl.. no fridge. Hope this helps

lizzycakes Posted 22 Sep 2010 , 9:22am
post #3 of 14

Thanks Laura. Ok I just made a fresh batch, triple wrapped, bagged AND put in airtight bowl..... but I did put it in the fridge (after scrubbing it down) so I can let it sit overnight since I just made it icon_redface.gif