So Irritated (Very Long)

Decorating By beesweetcakes Updated 20 Sep 2010 , 9:09am by beesweetcakes

beesweetcakes Posted 20 Sep 2010 , 7:07am
post #1 of 4

First let me start off and say that I have only been doing cakes for one month. OK, so I had a customer that wanted a birthday cake for her husband. She came to my house for a consultation with a sketch already drawn up. I think, "OK, cool, she knows what she wants." She wanted a the Burberry design on a cake with her husband watch going across it. I thought then, that was a little weird, but hey that's what the customer wants and that's what she gets.She also stated that her family are not cake eaters, so I suggested something a little smaller than what she wanted. To no avail she wanted a 2 layer 12x18. She emails me a picture a few days later with a photo of the watch and even apologizes for the "bluriness" of the photo and stated that she hoped that I could make it sharper. Hello, I am not a professional photographer. I called her and told her that there was nothing that I could do to fix the photo. She said, "OK, do your best. I know you'll do a fabulous job. All of your cakes look great.

Fast forward to pick up day. She walks into my kitchen a proceeds to tell me everything that she thought was wrong with it. Here is the list:
1. the watch is not silver enough. I told her in the consultation that I did not have an airbrush device. I did use gray fondant and painted silver luster dust over it.
2. the watch face was not etched like a real watch. Hello, it's made our of fondant. I did etch all of the details that I could see on the blurry photo
3. the cake was way too big

She paid and left.
Now fast forward to day after. Here are her complaints.

1. the cake flavor was not "mind blowing." It tasted like a spice/pumpkin cake. (They are very similar with all of the spices. I had real carrots and raisins in there.)