Copyrights

Decorating By dulcecakes Updated 19 Sep 2010 , 11:24pm by Coral3

dulcecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dulcecakes Posted 18 Sep 2010 , 3:46am
post #1 of 10

I am new to the cake business and I have a question: Does anyone know if it is some kind of copyright infringement to recreate licensed characters (mario, buzz lightyear, ariel, etc) on a cake for a client?

9 replies
Sucrea Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sucrea Posted 18 Sep 2010 , 3:56am
post #2 of 10

Yes. You can not recreate licensed characters, logos, etc that are copyrighted. The character pans that they sell are for home use only and are not to be sold.

Mommy2ThreeBoys Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mommy2ThreeBoys Posted 18 Sep 2010 , 4:03am
post #3 of 10

Just wondering, but wouldn't selling cakes with fondant copy righted characters be the same thing as selling a cake made from a character pan? After all your still selling it with something that has been copy righted on it.

Sucrea Posted 18 Sep 2010 , 4:18am
post #4 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mommy2ThreeBoys

Just wondering, but wouldn't selling cakes with fondant copy righted characters be the same thing as selling a cake made from a character pan? After all your still selling it with something that has been copy righted on it.

Yes. Maybe I wasn't clear. You can not recreate any character or logo that is copyrighted and sell it. It doesn't matter if you purchased the pan or made it from scratch or just made a figurine for the top of a cake.

Mommy2ThreeBoys Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mommy2ThreeBoys Posted 18 Sep 2010 , 4:34am
post #5 of 10

Got ya, it just looks like many do though.

Rachel5370 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rachel5370 Posted 18 Sep 2010 , 4:46am
post #6 of 10