Can I Save This Edible Image?

Decorating By letsgetcaking Updated 26 Sep 2010 , 5:40am by letsgetcaking

letsgetcaking Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
letsgetcaking Posted 16 Sep 2010 , 7:58pm
post #1 of 11

I just picked up an edible image I ordered from the bakery at Giant. It looks great, but I've never used one before. I read a bunch of stuff online before I bought it to make sure I could handle using it. Everything I read online said to save it in the refrigerator until it was ready to use, but the person in the bakery told me that it would crack if I put it in the fridge. Also, everything I saw online said it would come in a metal/aluminum bag. This came in a clear plastic bag that doesn't seal.

So, my questions:

How should I store this thing until I'm ready to use it? I was not planning to make the cake until next Thursday. This is just a hobby and I'm making the cake for my brother. I can't afford to spend another $6 on another image, so I hope I can save this one.

Any help you can give will be greatly appreciated.

10 replies
AnotherCreation Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AnotherCreation Posted 16 Sep 2010 , 8:07pm
post #2 of 11

I put mine in a gallon zip lock bag not refrigerated.

2kiddos Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
2kiddos Posted 16 Sep 2010 , 8:24pm
post #3 of 11

Air tight gallon zip lock bag. Do not refrigerate!

LisaR64 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LisaR64 Posted 16 Sep 2010 , 8:43pm
post #4 of 11

A couple days ago I used an edible image I printed & stored in a Zip Lock bag over 6 months ago, and it was just fine.

letsgetcaking Posted 16 Sep 2010 , 8:45pm
post #5 of 11

Thank you both so much! I am going right down to put it in a ziplock bag and I'll leave it on the counter.

Now, I have another question. icon_rolleyes.gif (I know it shouldn't be this difficult.)

Can I refrigerate the cake with the edible image on it, or will that mess it up, too?

gingerbreadtogo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile