Help! 5 Tier Advice Please!

Decorating By MISweetAddictions Updated 19 Sep 2010 , 6:30pm by MISweetAddictions

MISweetAddictions Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MISweetAddictions Posted 16 Sep 2010 , 2:44pm
post #1 of 19

I am kinda new to all of this and need some much needed advice on how to stack a 5 tier cake. The tiers will strawberry(14") Chocolate(12") Yellow(10") and white (8"and 6") I am extremely nervous about assembling this cake. The frosting will be Buttercream. I am adding gumpaste butterflies about 1"x1" throughout and 1 1/2" Ribbon to the bottom of each tier. ANY ADVICE on how to go about this??????

18 replies
tracycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tracycakes Posted 16 Sep 2010 , 3:18pm
post #2 of 19

SPS! I've done several 5 tier cakes and they are done the same way as a 2 tier or 3 tier. I get SPS is 6", 8", 10, and 12". Yes, I have stacked and delivered 5 tier cakes this summer in 100 heat and 99% humidity using SPS.

It's no different than any other cake, it just takes time and patience.

ChefAngie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ChefAngie Posted 16 Sep 2010 , 3:39pm
post #3 of 19

I think you will be fine-remember when making large cakes small cakes coming together as one -the same support for cakes you've done in the past add more for larger tiers. Keep an electric pencil shapener or hand sharpener near for dowel rods.
Dowel rods
Straws
the small pvc pipe works wonderful for large tiers
Cake Jacks
Happy Baking and decorating,
Chef Angie

luntus Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
luntus Posted 16 Sep 2010 , 3:44pm
post #4 of 19

I agree .... for that peace of mind go with SPS.
Deep breath and don't be nervous. from someone who will be doing her first 5 tier in 3 weeks.... I know how you feel. icon_smile.gif

MISweetAddictions Posted 16 Sep 2010 , 4:06pm
post #5 of 19