Help! Do I Need A License For A Cake Here And There?

Business By Sweet_Deelite Updated 16 Sep 2010 , 2:18am by 4realLaLa

Sweet_Deelite Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sweet_Deelite Posted 15 Sep 2010 , 3:14pm
post #1 of 10

I am just learning to decorate fancier cakes. I love to bake. Thanks to facebook a couple of my friends have asked me to make cakes for their special occassions. I made two cakes for a babyshower and one for a bridal shower.

I charged for the needed grocery items and a small fee for my time. I do not want to start a business but a cake once every month or two would be nice so I can put my artistic talents to good use!

My Aunt is comparing me to a woman from my hometown who made cakes on a daily basis for everyone in town that needed one for weddings, baptisms, holidays etc. She got in trouble for not having a state licensed kitchen and does not make cakes anymore.

Now my Aunt is on my case on facebook daily questioning me about what I need to do to continue making cakes.

Do I need a state license for this type of Hobby????

9 replies
Minstrelmiss Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Minstrelmiss Posted 15 Sep 2010 , 3:35pm
post #2 of 10

1. Where do you live? Some states, no, most states yes.

2. Likely yes if you are selling.

bummer for many of us here. HTH

jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 15 Sep 2010 , 3:36pm
post #3 of 10

If you accept compensation of any kind for your products (even just the cost of ingredients), you need to be a licensed business in order to be legal. Depending on your state you may be able to get a license for a commercial home kitchen. Liability insurance is also strongly recommended as well as an LLC, since all of your personal assets are at risk if you face a lawsuit.

If you make your cakes for free you should be fine.

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 15 Sep 2010 , 3:52pm
post #4 of 10