So Beyond Frustrated!! Rant...long, Sorry.

Decorating By Erin3085 Updated 15 Sep 2010 , 12:14am by fortheloveofsweets

Erin3085 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Erin3085 Posted 14 Sep 2010 , 7:04pm
post #1 of 14

There is this girl I know who is always raving about my cakes, and how pretty they are and yummy, etc. I'm not a pro, I'm just a hobby baker and the cakes I have done for friends I have made right at cost, and even a little less, and I use doctored mix recipes.
Anyway, she asked me not too long ago to make her mom's bday cake for her, and had been "excitedly" (because she puts on that show when she wants something) talking about it with me for several weeks. She wanted a 2-tier similar to the yellow one I have in my pictures, and I told her I could do it for $30. She acted so over-the-top excited about me making it, until I told her the price. Then she said "Oh, well...let me ask my nanna and make sure she wasn't make one first." Two weeks later, I get an email saying "Hey sorry but my nanna already had planned to make a cake!" That's fine, but I was a little annoyed that she obviously had sticker shock over a $30 2-tier birthday cake.