Arrrrggghhh Help Please!!

Decorating By jimmers Updated 14 Sep 2010 , 2:44pm by jimmers

jimmers Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jimmers Posted 14 Sep 2010 , 10:15am
post #1 of 7

ok. so, I'm fairly new to this and I'm making a cake that's supposed to have little squares stuck around the top of the cake but standing up if you know what I mean??!! They are half on the sides of the cake and half standing proud at the top. hope you understand!! They're supposed to be black so i bought the black paste, gummed it 1 tsp to 250g like I'd read but it's just not stiffening up at all. It's really sticky and every time I put them on they're falling over. I can't change the design cos she came to me with a specific picture. It's due tomor and I'm having a complete nightmare!! Are there any ways of drying it out?? I've cut out 200 squares and really don't think I've got time to re gum and cut etc. icon_cry.gif

6 replies
ncsmorris Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ncsmorris Posted 14 Sep 2010 , 12:52pm
post #2 of 7

Sorry I can't help; I'm having a difficult time imagining in my head what you're trying to do. If you're using gumpaste (I'm a little unclear about this), did you leave it overnight and it's still not dry?

Malakin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Malakin Posted 14 Sep 2010 , 1:06pm
post #3 of 7

I think you're talking about gumpaste. Not really sure. When I color gumpaste, I usually don't use the darker colors like red or black. I airbrush them. Everytime I've ever colored gumpaste extremely dark it gets sticky and won't dry or hold it's shape.
Seeing as how you already have it done and it has to stand up at the top, the only thing I've done in those situations is keep a fan blowing on it and after 6 hours I turn the peices over and do the same on that side. Maybe it will help, don't know about your humidity where you are.

kansaslaura Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kansaslaura Posted 14 Sep 2010 , 1:07pm
post #4 of 7