Gumpaste Numbers And Stars

Decorating By jaimalina5277 Updated 24 Apr 2014 , 1:22pm by nancylee61

jaimalina5277 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jaimalina5277 Posted 14 Sep 2010 , 5:54am
post #1 of 12

Does anyone know how long in advance I need to make gum paste stars and numbers to put on a cake. I want to put a big 60 on the top too. I bought cookie cutters to cut them out.

My friend asked me to make her a cake and I was going to use gum paste stars on wire, I have never done this before.
Also can I just put the wire in the cake or do I need to put them in little straw, I read that on someones post.

Your help and suggestions would be awesome, thanks!!

11 replies
MommaDukes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MommaDukes Posted 14 Sep 2010 , 12:05pm
post #2 of 12

I make my numbers and stars @ least 2 days before they are needed. The longer they have to dry the better. You can use coffee stir sticks they are not as big as a straw.
I have also just stuck my wire into the cake, the cake store I purchase from assured me they are food safe, but you are better off safe by using a stir stick or straw.

Katyscc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Katyscc Posted 14 Sep 2010 , 4:36pm
post #3 of 12

I just make stars for the first time last weekend and and found that the medium stars worked better on the wire than the large stars. Pretty easy to do. Good luck!!!

auntginn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
auntginn Posted 14 Sep 2010 , 5:07pm
post #4 of 12

The longer they sit out to dry the better. Especially if they are freestanding like your numbers 60 will be. But if you don't have a couple of days try adding in tylose. It will turn you fondant into a gumpaste like and harden quickly. I love using it to make my roses. The petals are not as fragile as gumpaste ones are either.

jaimalina5277 Posted 14 Sep 2010 , 7:09pm
post #5 of 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by MommaDukes