Pan Size Question....pls Help!

Decorating By Babarooskie Updated 14 Sep 2010 , 2:04pm by Babarooskie

Babarooskie Posted 13 Sep 2010 , 5:06pm
post #1 of 18

I received an e-mail for a Baby Shower cake. The cake will be in baby blocks, spelling out the baby's name.

The cake will be for 40 people...and a total of 5 blocks.
What size pan will be sufficient??

17 replies
Babarooskie Posted 13 Sep 2010 , 5:37pm
post #2 of 18

Anyone from the 17 views have suggestions???

imagenthatnj Posted 13 Sep 2010 , 5:43pm
post #3 of 18

Oh, Babarooskie... I came in a few times to check if anyone had chimed in. I have no experience so I can't help you.

All I could think of was that each block must serve 8 people, and I'm not sure how big the pieces should be for those specific people! I know it's not a wedding, so the pieces must be bigger. The other thing I thought about was that it's blocks, so they should be the same width and height. Then I could think no more! Sorry you're not getting answers right away!

Babarooskie Posted 13 Sep 2010 , 6:00pm
post #4 of 18

Thanks imagenthatnj...

I guess I'll keep waiting...

flamingobaker Posted 13 Sep 2010 , 6:21pm
post #5 of 18

4 " blocks will give you 30 servings
(serving size 1.3" x 2" x 4" = 6 servings x 5 blocks = 30)

6" blocks will give you more than 60 servings.

So, you can either take on the hassle of carving 5" blocks to size, or add two 4" blocks and decorate to co ordinate with the name blocks.

HTH!

awatterson Posted 13 Sep 2010 , 6:21pm
post #6 of 18

Does it have to be blocks only, or could it be blocks on top of a cake?

Babarooskie Posted 13 Sep 2010 , 7:15pm
post #7 of 18

It has to be blocks... I already tried that one! lol

Well, I told her the final price and she hasn't responded. Let's see if I end up making the cake at all!

awatterson Posted 13 Sep 2010 , 7:23pm
post #8 of 18

Let us know what happens! I have no clue the size of pans though. Because the smallest would be 6" and that would be 18 people each.