What Do You Use To Cut Fondant?

Decorating By cakesrock Updated 15 Sep 2010 , 2:51am by 4realLaLa

cakesrock Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesrock Posted 12 Sep 2010 , 5:17pm
post #1 of 7

I have a tough time getting clean and even edges when I cut my fondant and gumpaste into shapes/strips etc. I usually use my cutting/quilting/embossing tool (looks like a mini pizza wheel) or an pizza wheel. I have looked for an exacto knife that will work (the kind that they use on the cake decorating shows) but can't find one!
What does everyone else use?

My other challenge is that I roll on a silicone mat and you cant' really cut on that. I want to know where I can find one of those green cutting mats I've seen used on you tube videos? And what they are called??

TIA!

6 replies
Mommy2ThreeBoys Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mommy2ThreeBoys Posted 12 Sep 2010 , 5:41pm
post #2 of 7

I've always used the pizza cutter, I am just a newbie though and use the Wilton rolling mat to roll it out on.

yummy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yummy Posted 12 Sep 2010 , 5:42pm
post #3 of 7

I cut with a small sharp knife that has a point; Michael's sells exacto knives but they're behind a cage (like the spray paints) I just haven't gotten one yet. I get clean cuts by rolling my fondant/gumpaste very thin and let rest for about 5-15 minutes before cutting, I cut it out on this metal bullentin board with clear plastic I got from a fabric store over it; I don't have to press down hard and I really don't get any score marks this way.

I also use a pizza cutter when doing zebra stripes and long strips. I'm about to use a 40% coupon for the Wilton cutter embosser.

Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 12 Sep 2010 , 6:08pm
post #4 of 7

Walmart sells exacto knives too, in the craft aisle.

I like to use a small rotary cutter for curves, a baker's blade for straight lines, kitchen shears to trim excess from the bottom edge of cakes.