Home Baker Business Plan

Business By divinecc Updated 21 Sep 2010 , 1:22pm by costumeczar

divinecc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
divinecc Posted 8 Sep 2010 , 10:06pm
post #1 of 12

I am starting up my own business and have heard many people suggest a strong business plan. I have been searching the internet for information and seem to only find advice on commercial type business plans. Can anyone offer help for a business plan for a home baker. I know a lot of it is the same but there are a lot of differences as well. I just don't really know where to start. Thanks icon_confused.gif

11 replies
HelloCheesecake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HelloCheesecake Posted 8 Sep 2010 , 10:22pm
post #2 of 12

You can only start a home business baking cakes if your state allows it. Look into the "cottage law" and see where your state falls.

Kitagrl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kitagrl Posted 8 Sep 2010 , 10:35pm
post #3 of 12

As a home baker I have low overhead so I don't have a business plan.

I went through the proper channels to be licensed and I know I have to bring in enough cake orders to pay those fees, my insurance, and my supplies.

By charging comparable to other gourmet cakeries in the area, I easily cover the costs and make a profit so I don't worry too much about a true "business plan". I just keep my records each month and record costs and profits and then report myself as "self employed" when I figure taxes at the end of the year.

TrixieTreats Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TrixieTreats Posted 8 Sep 2010 , 10:50pm
post #4 of 12

A great idea...if you have the time for it...would be to contact the local SBA (Small Business Association) They actually offer free assistance with business plans and can help with a variety of other business planning tools and resources as well. Just a thought.

mombabytiger Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mombabytiger Posted 8 Sep 2010 , 10:59pm
post #5 of 12