Assembling The Cake

Decorating By GHOST_USER_NAME Updated 8 Sep 2010 , 3:54pm by GHOST_USER_NAME

GHOST_USER_NAME Posted 8 Sep 2010 , 3:03am
post #1 of 3

First, my apologies as I'm sure this subject has been addressed, but while scanning topics I just can't find a clear answer...and I'm still new to this, so a bit unsure.

I'm going to be making a two-tiered cake for my daughter's first birthday this weekend (3 layers each, 9" round and 6" round). I'm going to be using BC (with shortening, not butter if that makes a difference) for filling and crumb-coating. From what I've read on here, I need to fill the cakes, refrigerate and let settle, then crumb coat, refrigerate, then put another layer of icing and refrigerate before putting on MMF. What, if anything, will happen after the BC comes to room temperature after the fondant is on? Will it cause the fondant to sink or sag? Should I let it come to room temp before putting the fondant on?

I don't want to refrigerate after putting on the fondant because I've heard that it makes the fondant sweat while coming to room temperature.

Am I correct in my order of things? Do I need to let the layers settle before coating with BC?

TIA icon_wink.gif

2 replies
catlharper Posted 8 Sep 2010 , 3:11am
post #2 of 3