What's The Procedure When Teaching?

Decorating By cakeladyatLA Updated 7 Sep 2010 , 1:58pm by TexasSugar

cakeladyatLA Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeladyatLA Posted 6 Sep 2010 , 4:01am
post #1 of 5

I am a cake decorating teacher, I make my own program, so basically I can teach whatever I want.
My question is, can you teach whatever you want?
I mean, I just went to the ICES convention and learn a lot, can I just teach whatever I learned at will?
Whats the protocol on someone else recipes?
Do you print their website or email?
I had never taken any classes before in my life, I learned bakery style.
Can you print out pictures from other websites and give out to the students?
How do you feel about this?

Thank you

Patty*

4 replies
Joyfull4444 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Joyfull4444 Posted 6 Sep 2010 , 1:45pm
post #2 of 5

Not a teacher here but.. I would teach what you know. I don't think you'd have to follow a set program such as the wilton courses, but I might plan my program around them a bit if I was going to teach. The basics, the easier stuff first etc.

As for another persons recipe/s. If it was a personal recipe given to me, I would ask first, if it was okay to distribute the recipe to my students.

If its a recipe that has been posted on a cake website for other decorators to try, then I would have no problem passing it on to my students.

I would never print another persons email without asking permission.

Ditto for printing pictures from other cake websites. I would not do that.

I would however have a printed list of the cake websites I thought would be helpful. Such as Cake Central. thumbs_up.gif

poohsmomma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
poohsmomma Posted 6 Sep 2010 , 4:56pm
post #3 of 5