Newbie Needs Buttercream Advice.

Baking By nanceann Updated 12 Sep 2010 , 12:43am by deMuralist

nanceann Posted 5 Sep 2010 , 6:35pm
post #1 of 15

So, I'm new to all of this decorating. What is the best recipe for buttercream for a newbie decorator? I have a few Wilton tips and bags, and just want to be able to do an Elmo cake for my nephew's birthday in a few weeks. I don't think I want to do wedding cakes or anything, I just want to have fun! Any advice is appreciated!

14 replies
DeezTreatz Posted 5 Sep 2010 , 6:40pm
post #2 of 15

I use this buttercream all the time!

1/2 cup shortening
1/2 cup butter (softened)
1 Tsp vanilla extract
4 cups icing sugar (Add one cup at a time - and mix)
2 Tbsp Water or Milk (I use water)

For chocolate buttercream add 3/4 cups cocoa

Add more water (1 tbsp at a time if you find it to be too stiff)
It should be a medium consistency to ice the cake!

Uniqueask Posted 5 Sep 2010 , 6:44pm
post #3 of 15

You can also look in the recipe section for Indydebi's buttercream, or Sharon Zambito's buttercream recipies, lots of us use them, for Sharon's you need Hi-ratio shortening, you can make Debi's with Crisco.

ellentwn Posted 5 Sep 2010 , 6:50pm
post #4 of 15

semi-newbie here also, and i started out with Indydeb's and it works great!

nanceann Posted 5 Sep 2010 , 7:33pm
post #5 of 15

OK, another newbie question, what is high ratio? I have plenty of Crisco, brand new unopened container.

Pickulz Posted 5 Sep 2010 , 8:03pm
post #6 of 15

I always used Indydebi's it...and its easy to work with...though im finding it a tad sweet now im thinking of trying Sharon's BC i have the same question...what is high ratio shortening?

tonedna Posted 5 Sep 2010 , 8:33pm
post #7 of 15