I Have A Question About Decorating Cookies

Baking By iluvpeeks Updated 8 Sep 2010 , 6:29am by iluvpeeks

iluvpeeks Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
iluvpeeks Posted 5 Sep 2010 , 5:21pm
post #1 of 16

Hi Everyone
This is the problem. My two little grand nephews love Mario and Luigi. I thought I saw cookie cutters at one point, but I couldn't find any. I finally found some on ebay. They're cookie cutters from 1989! Well, I bid on them, and won. (My grandsons love them too). There are 4 cutters. Mario, Luigi, Koopa Troopa, and Spiny. The impressions on the cutters are pretty detailed, and once you flood them its hard to see the details so you can fill in where needed. Also, the room to put the different colors of glace are so small it looks awful. I'm new at cookie decorating, and couldn't find any former posts on this. Would I be better off using the food coloring markers? I know, I bit off more than I can chew! (no pun intended) Any suggestions or hints would be greatly appreciated.
Kathy

15 replies
Montrealconfections Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Montrealconfections Posted 5 Sep 2010 , 5:34pm
post #2 of 16

Hi Kathy,

You have a couple of options you could just pip the lines & not flood the cookie or you could pip the indented lines in white to mark them then flood the colors then pass over in black icing over the white lines. If you want you could also just pip the indent in black but it looks messy onces flooded up to you.

still_learning Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
still_learning Posted 5 Sep 2010 , 5:35pm
post #3 of 16