Spongebob Disaster

Decorating By shannonmarie77 Updated 6 Sep 2010 , 5:18am by shannonmarie77

shannonmarie77 Posted 4 Sep 2010 , 11:54pm
post #1 of 14

This is my first time really baking anything other than a sheet cake with canned frosting. I wanted to make a spongebob cake for my dd's birthday party.

I did a tiered cake with 3 different flavors of cake( chocolate with chocolate chips, french vanilla, and confetti) and 4 different flavors off mmf (vanilla almond with chocolate cake, blue raspberry with vanilla, and lemon lime and vanilla for the decorations).

I stacked the cakes and did all the decorating except for the frosting decorations. I go to finish it and i find that the cake plate i had it on has cracked and broken so now it is slumped towards the back and bulging (i let it settle over night once filled) from the dip of the back of the plate falling off and moving it. Oh, and all the fondant decorations fell off. =(

I still have to take it an hour away tomorrow so it probably is going to be a pile of cake when i get there. I was so aggravated i did minimal decorations and stuck it back in it's box. If it survives the trip I am going to tell them that i wanted the cake to look like boulders and it was a very complicated carving technique....lol.

http://cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=1794378&done=1

13 replies
sugarandstuff Posted 5 Sep 2010 , 12:16am
post #2 of 14

That's too bad - it's a cute cake. Did you level and dowel your layers for support?

shannonmarie77 Posted 5 Sep 2010 , 12:24am
post #3 of 14

I added 5 dowels to the lower layer and then put a cake board between the bottom and upper layer and a dowel going through the middle. I also used 2 dowels to stick the pineapple cake on. I had let the cakes set overnight with a book on top once filled also.