How Much Should I Pay....?

Business By sonia57 Updated 5 Sep 2010 , 3:17am by cakeville82

sonia57 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sonia57 Posted 2 Sep 2010 , 3:47am
post #1 of 14

I have a very large project coming for October. A client wants me to make 10 9-inch decorated fondant cakes which will serve as table centerpieces. She also wants a couple of cake pops trees. Since this is probably a job for more than 1 person, I was thinking of asking a friend who is a baker by profession to help me out. If I provided all the materials, how much should I pay him for labor? I have no idea.

13 replies
CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWR41 Posted 2 Sep 2010 , 3:56am
post #2 of 14

Do you really think you need the help?
Is the decorating something that's elaborate or time-consuming?
What exactly would the baker be hired to do... bake or decorate?

aundrea Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aundrea Posted 2 Sep 2010 , 3:57am
post #3 of 14

i think he would have to decide how much he wants to get paid for helping you. and if you can afford it or both of you come to a mutual decision thats great!
good luck! sounds like an amazing project to be working on.

sonia57 Posted 2 Sep 2010 , 4:01am
post #4 of 14

This is a side business for me. I have a fulltime job. So, most likely I will need assistance for both baking and decorating for this project.

CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWR41 Posted 2 Sep 2010 , 4:10am
post #5 of 14

I agree with Aundrea.

icesk8ermom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icesk8ermom Posted 2 Sep 2010 , 4:19pm
post #6 of 14

If it was me I would personally offer them 45-50% of my "profit". If they are a professional and have their own business then in order to help you they will need to stop their production to help you which means a loss of income to do so. You of course would get full credit for the job and hopeful references for the future as that you can turn this into your full-time job and do it on your own!