Newbie Cake Layering Question

Decorating By bamadixiechick Updated 1 Sep 2010 , 5:44pm by imagenthatnj

bamadixiechick Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bamadixiechick Posted 1 Sep 2010 , 3:12pm
post #1 of 4

I'm a cake newbie and have been addicted to CC. I have been watching several cake decorating videos, but I need help with layers and torte and assembling each layer.

For example, here is a photo of a single tier cake. (disregard the decorations)

http://tinyurl.com/35x4235

What size pans do I need? 9"? 10"? What about depth? 2" or 3" How many pans?

Once the cake is done, and I take the cakes out of their pans, then do I slice each cake in half horizontally and stack with icing in between so I have 4+ layers?

If anyone has a tutortial on this, I would greatly appreciate it! I figured I'd start small and master the basic technique before moving on to mult-tier cakes.

Thanks!
Robyn

3 replies
leslieannec Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leslieannec Posted 1 Sep 2010 , 4:51pm
post #2 of 4

Hi Robyn,
Without a scale to the picture, there really is no way to tell how big this particular cake is. If I were to do something like that though, I would go with an 8 inch. It looks like the type of cake where they aren't looking to feed that many.

Other people may disagree though.

Leslie

iluvpeeks Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
iluvpeeks Posted 1 Sep 2010 , 5:19pm
post #3 of 4

Hi