Pricing Cakes

Decorating By urbangrl2007 Updated 31 Aug 2010 , 11:53am by ncsmorris

urbangrl2007 Posted 31 Aug 2010 , 4:27am
post #1 of 5

So I'm new to this whole cake decorating thing, and have sold a few cakes. I just finished the Wilton Gum Paste and Fondant class (and did quite well haha), and have had a request to do a wedding cake. I know such a big scale for a beginner, but I've talked to the girl and it's nothing major (nothing huge or overly fancy), so don't freak out. icon_biggrin.gif

Any ways, I was wondering how pricing generally works for doing gum paste flowers and such. I didn't know if I should do like 75cents to $1.50 per flower, or do like 6 for $5. How do you price that? They're not difficult, they're just incredibly time consuming. Especially depending on which ones you're doing and how many you need.

Also, What's the standard rate for a 2 layer, 8 in round cake? Cake 1: frosted and all icing decorations and Cake 2: fondant covered and fondant/gumpaste decorations.

Two more questions (I really hope someone answers :\\ ).
1: how long can you freeze a cake before you decorate it and still have it taste good? Like if the cake was made around Christmas and frozen, then taken out to be decorated for a wedding on January 8th.
2: How do you decide how much cake to make based on the number of people attending the event (say if there were 100 people or so).

Thank you to who ever answers any (hopefully all) of these questions!!

4 replies
goodiegoddess Posted 31 Aug 2010 , 4:41am
post #2 of 5

Do a search, there are TONS!! of topics about pricing.

Welcome to CC, but you might just have opened a can of worms......

illustreeous Posted 31 Aug 2010 , 5:40am
post #3 of 5

definetly agree you'll probably get more info through the search! Welcome :] Especially when you search you'll get 30+ opinions !!!! goodluck!
oh, my personal feedback is that I don't ever freeze my cakes but I've heard people do it up to a week if i'm not mistaken (what i've read)