I'm A Newbie Looking For Tips Making A Red Velvet Cake

Decorating By Robertv Updated 31 Aug 2010 , 10:31am by cakesrock

Robertv Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Robertv Posted 30 Aug 2010 , 3:39am
post #1 of 9

Hello.......
I'm new to the cake making world and I wanted to start off making a red velvet cream cheese filling cake. I had planned to use the recipe I got from cake boss web site unless any can suggest another recipe. Also does the icing go as the filling and top icing? Could it be cream cheese filling with a different frosting outside? And should I use fondant? Thank for your help

8 replies
Mexx Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mexx Posted 30 Aug 2010 , 12:35pm
post #2 of 9

I've used the red velvet recipe on this site at http://cakecentral.com/recipes/15519/1920s-waldorf-astoria-red-velvet-cake
It uses pureed beets to help with the red colour and keeps the cake very moist. It has the added bonus of not needing as much red food colouring as some of the other recipes.
I've only ever made red velvet with cream cheese filling and frosting...haven't covered it with fondant, but I don't see why you couldn't.

Hope this helps!

hvanaalst Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hvanaalst Posted 30 Aug 2010 , 8:39pm
post #3 of 9

I like cakeman raven's red velvet...I will have to look for the link tho. I love the cream cheese frosting with it but I know there is a cooked one that lots of people like too.

My best advice to making it is to make sure you don't over cook it. It turns out way too dry even if slightly over cooked. Also, I prefer eating it the next day after it has been chilled. For me, that seems to bring out the best flavor and enhance the moistness of the cake.

hvanaalst Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tiggy2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tiggy2 Posted 30 Aug 2010 , 8:56pm
post #5 of 9

Sarah's re velvet tweeked, on this site is excelent. Very easy to make and moist. I get rave reviews every time I make it.