Need Advice On Cake With Fondant??

Decorating By heathermeece Updated 30 Aug 2010 , 1:29pm by heathermeece

heathermeece Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
heathermeece Posted 30 Aug 2010 , 3:15am
post #1 of 5

I am new to the cake decorating game and I love doing it. I have been offering to make cakes for people for cost of supplies so I can try out a lot of new things and learn. I was asked to do a 3 tier circle wedding cake. I put the dowel rods in for support. I covered with fondant (this was my fourth cake for fondant). I am no where near an expert but am having trouble figuring out what went wrong...if anything on my part. The customer needed the cake for a Monday night wedding but wanted to pick it up Sat. I baked them Thursday night, decorated Fri/fri.night/ and Sat. She transports it (instead of letting me transport it 100 miles away, which I begged her to let me do) home and says the cake did not make it all the way; that "the back of the whole bottom completely fell off". Well first circle cakes don't have backs so I don't know what she means. I asked for more details and she has not responded. I also requested a picture, no reply. She also said the fondant was too hard. Well my understanding is fondant hardens after it sits out correct?? Well hers sat out for 4 days so I imagine it did get harder, but IDK. Can someone please offer me some explanation as to what might have happened since she is giving me little to go on. When she picked up her cake, we agreed on $80 and offered me $50 (like I said I am only doing it at cost) so that should have been a warning flag right there that she is "one of those people".[/img]

I tried to "Add an attachment" and upload the pic but it is not showing up in the preview before I post so if I don't know how to get it uploaded??

I added this cake to my gallery and as of now it is the only one in there.

4 replies
AngelinaMomof3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AngelinaMomof3 Posted 30 Aug 2010 , 11:03am
post #2 of 5