Cake Decorating Books

Decorating By Joshsmom Updated 3 Mar 2005 , 11:03am by flayvurdfun

Joshsmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Joshsmom Posted 24 Feb 2005 , 12:41am
post #1 of 7

I happened to be browsing ebay and noticed that there are alot of the old Wilton yearbooks and cake decorating books and patterns.

As I am new to cake decorating, are these really useful to have or is this more for the collector as some date back to the 70's?

6 replies
nashsmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nashsmom Posted 24 Feb 2005 , 12:49am
post #2 of 7

I have gotten some old Wilton yearbooks from Ebay. I like to look through them for cake design ideas and I have found that they do have decorating techniques in them that I hadn't learned in my classes.

cakeconfections Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeconfections Posted 24 Feb 2005 , 2:12am
post #3 of 7

I started decorating about two years ago. I have purchased a lot of old wilton books. I have found them to be helpful and full of ideas.

tcturtleshell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tcturtleshell Posted 24 Feb 2005 , 4:41am
post #4 of 7

I say the more books the better! hat1.gif When I'm not baking or decorating I'm either looking at books or surfing the internet at cakes! It's addictive!!!! birthday.gif

ilithiya Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ilithiya Posted 3 Mar 2005 , 5:47am
post #5 of 7

You'd be getting an unequivocal "heck yeah!" from me. I'm one of those people who can't justify spending more than what's absolutely necessary for anything... but ended up shelling out almost $100 for the three volumes of the Encyclopedia. Worth it? Gaw. Darn straight those books are worth it. icon_biggrin.gif