My First Cake Disaster...

Decorating By klj0207 Updated 28 Aug 2010 , 12:31am by still_learning

klj0207 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
klj0207 Posted 27 Aug 2010 , 8:04pm
post #1 of 10

I am still a newbie to cake decorating, and definately a newbie to fondant and gumpaste...so not even sure where I went wrong and what I can do to improve, so constructive advice is welcome. I was making a WOW theme cake for my hubby, his birthday is this weekend and I'm throwing a suprise party tonight. Found a cake on here that I loved and used it as inspiration. I was very excited about it. Knew I was going to cover it in fondant. This was the 3rd cake I tried to cover, and the worst one. Its a 2 tier double layer cake that I was trying to get to look like a castle in a way. So I made the bottom layer, covered it in chocolate buttercream (which was a disaster too) and then rolled out the fondant. I thought I was doing really well, until I tried to put it on the cake. It started tearing really bad. So the part that had not touched the cake I salvaged and threw the rest away. I did it again, and the same thing. I freaked out and called a cake friend and she told me how I could cover it up. I covered a big hole with the 'door' but there were still other areas. I knew i could cover them up somehow so I let it go. Then I started working on the top tier. SAME FREAKING THING!! It tore, so bad and in places I didn't think I could cover up. I ran to the store to get more fondant and finally got it covered. This morning I got up and thought I was doing well. I put dowel rods in to support, but must not have been enough. It started sliding. It looks horrible but there is nothing I could do about it now. Now sure where I went wrong with alot of it...but just glad it wasnt a paid order.

9 replies
TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 27 Aug 2010 , 8:09pm
post #2 of 10

What brand of fondant were you using? How thick/thin where you rolling it out?