Complete Beginner :-)

Baking By cuppacupcake Updated 12 Feb 2011 , 2:29pm by Cupcations

cuppacupcake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cuppacupcake Posted 26 Aug 2010 , 7:12pm
post #1 of 18

Hi all, I'm new!! icon_smile.gif
I used to bake cookies etc when i was a little girl but haven't baked much in years!

lately I'm really interested in learning how to bake the perfect Cupcake icon_smile.gif There is soooooooooo much to learn. Once i get a bit of practice, hopefully i'll progress to cakes icon_biggrin.gif

I've found lots of recipes online, but then when I read the comments from other bakers it's usually split half and half regarding whether the recipes are any good or not! icon_cry.gif

So where is a good place to start? I don't want to use any cake mixes, want to do everything from scratch.

Can you guys recommend and good books/blogs on the basics of baking?
What piece of equipment could you not do without?

17 replies
Cindy619 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cindy619 Posted 26 Aug 2010 , 10:57pm
post #2 of 18

Welcome!!! Spend some time looking through/searching the forums for recipe ideas and suggestions. You'll find a wealth of knowledge from expert bakers! If you're looking for some good chocolate cakes, here's a great thread that's going on right now - http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-691694-scratch.html.

Good luck and have fun!

kansaslaura Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kansaslaura Posted 26 Aug 2010 , 11:25pm
post #3 of 18

My best advise is to jump in here with both feet. Do a lot of reading, search the forums. There is a wealth of information at your fingertips when you type your question into the search bar. Be prepared to make this your second home!

stacey71 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
stacey71 Posted 27 Aug 2010 , 12:01am
post #4 of 18