Is The Wilton Decorator Icing Really That Gross?

Decorating By Yellow5 Updated 19 Apr 2019 , 10:49pm by johnson6ofus

Yellow5 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Yellow5 Posted 25 Aug 2010 , 7:45pm
post #1 of 16

Hi all -

I'm new to CC and new to cake decorating as well. In fact, I've never really "decorated" a cake before, other than just frosting it and tossing on some sprinkles. I'm signed up for the first Wilton class at the local Joann's and I've heard that the Wilton icing in the tub that you buy for class is gross...and the recipe that they give you is also gross.

How bad is it? I'm not too picky but DH is very picky when it comes to sweets. He LOVES his sweets and is thrilled I'm taking the class, but he even says that the frosting for decorating is nasty.

Is there anything I can do to make it taste better? I want to get the basics down so I can learn and I know that frosting consistancy is vital, so I don't want to go around messing up the recipe. But I want to be able to enjoy the cake too & not throw it out. Since it's just the two of us, we won't be able to eat the three cakes I'll have to make during the duration of the class, so I'll be sending some to work with him. I also don't want to make a fool out of myself, sending him with a cake with gross frosting.

I'm sure I'm overthinking this, but I am REALLY excited to begin the classes (starts next Thurs!) and I hope to pick up a new hobby!

15 replies
sugaah Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugaah Posted 25 Aug 2010 , 7:51pm
post #2 of 16

I think the wilton decorating icing is really good - it's the wilton fondant that's nasty. Have fun in your class!!

mjandros Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mjandros Posted 25 Aug 2010 , 8:04pm
post #3 of 16